The Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs of the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has charged elected council Chairpersons to give reference to people-oriented policies and programs in leadership roles in the 31 LGAs.

The Chairman of the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Rt. Hon. Mark Esset said this during the familiarization meeting of the committee with the 31 LG Chairpersons, today.

“I urge you to see your position as a call to service and strive to satisfy the confidence repose on you by your people by giving them people-oriented leadership, with a determination to leave a legacy that will speak for you even after your tenure.”

He also assured LG administrators in the state of the House readiness to attend to petition and complains that arises from the tier without fear or favour.

Emphasis was made on the role of the House Committee to play a supervisory role in the LG administration as powered by Law. The House through the Committee charged elected council chairpersons to be acquainted with the Local Government Administrative Law 2017 so they avoid pitfalls while discharging their duties.

The Committee also announced its quarterly inspection of the 31 LG Councils which will commence soon.

Onbehalf of the 31 Chairpersons in the state, the ALGON Chairman, Hon. Iniobong Robson, Executive Chairman, Esit Eket LGA said as Chairman in the past six years, there were perceived rancour in that tier of Government which was not necessary.

He seized the opportunity to state that paucity of funds to run the affairs in the LGA is a major challenge.

Members of the Committee present included; Rt. Hon. Uduak Odudoh , Rt. Hon. Aniekan Uko, Rt. Hon. (Barr) Aniefiok Dennis Akpan ; Hon. Victor Ekwere; Rt. Hon. Asuquo Archibong; Rt. Hon. Effiong Bassey; Rt. Hon. David Lawrence and Rt. Hon. Usoro Akpanusoh.

Others were; Hon. (Dr.) Charity Ido ; Hon. (Barr) Esse Umoh; Hon. (Chief) Effiong Johnson; Hon. Godwin Ekpo; Hon. Udeme Otong; Rt. Hon. Idongesit Ntekpere; Hon. Asuquo Nana; Hon. (Barr) Bob Otobong and Hon. Mfon Idung.